Why I Write

I began my TA training today at Arizona State University.

This is the Durham Language and Literature building. I spent the majority of my MA here as well as my day today. Photo taken by John M. Quick.

This is the Durham Language and Literature building. I spent the majority of my MA here as well as my day today. Photo taken by John M. Quick.

My title within the University will be “Graduate Teaching Associate” when I’m finished. This distinction is important when clarifying what I will be doing there because I will be running my own classroom, not assisting other professors as the acronym “TA” suggests. But I digress.

Today one of the activities we did was spend some time writing about why we write. I got a little off topic because I started from what I consider to be the beginning of my career as a writer in 7th grade. I quite like what I came up with, so I thought I would share it here:

I’ve been a writer for a long time. In 7th grade, I was part of a competitive creative writing team. Creative writing and poetry saw me through the angst of my teenage years. In college, I studied English Lit, and so of course there was a good amount of academic writing. Creative writing consequently fell to the wayside. After my undergrad and before graduate school, I maintained a personal blog or two. But, I don’t think I’ve ever written so much as I did during my MA. My first (only?) 30 page paper was the longest and most difficult paper I’ve ever written, being unprepared to plan such a long paper. But, my topics all gather around the same thing– cultural phenomena. I am struck with the desire to explore and explain cultural phenomena in relation to language and behavior. That, and the stodgy rules of academia (gate keeping, unnecessary jargon, and impenetrable texts). I am motivated by research, the desire to explain, and, of course, my own ambitions; one doesn’t do grad school a PhD program if one doesn’t feel like what he/she has to say is important.

One response to “Why I Write

  1. Well said! I write for many of the same reasons. I do miss creative writing, though. I only wish academia didn’t drain my brain so much, so I had “juice” left over for the fun stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

