Quickie– Body Positivity “All About That Bass”

Okay, so part of the reason I’m writing this may be because I should be doing homework. Another reason I’m writing this is because I heard this song the other day and I love it: “All About That Bass” by Meghan Trainor.

This might be my new favorite song. It’s got a stellar body positivity message. Not only is she celebrating her figure, but she’s not shaming or marginalizing other body types. In the chorus she sings “You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll/So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along.” She acknowledges her body’s limitations but also doesn’t attempt to shame women who strive for that kind of Barbie doll perfect. She also acknowledges that some men are into that and just suggests they do find what they’re looking for in another place because she won’t be able to give that to them.

Now you might be thinking “Duh, you didn’t need to explain that to me,” but the important part here is that she’s not suggesting that those women are lesser because of their choices/how they look, and she’s also not calling out the men who are attracted to that. She’s essentially saying: You’re attracted to whom you’re attracted, and that’s fine; no group is lesser because they aren’t what the other wants. And that’s fabulous.

She also directly acknowledges girl-hate and waves it on by as well:

I’m bringing booty back
Go ahead and tell them skinny bitches that
No I’m just playing. I know you think you’re fat
But I’m here to tell ya
Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top

Yep. Awesome.

Also can we just talk about the representation in the video? She covers the spectrum of both body type and race, and that’s phenomenal. All the love for Trainor and this song.

Leave a Reply

